NATHAN’S DRIVING SCHOOL, INC.
TERMS OF SERVICE
All classes. lessons, and testing offered by Nathan’s Driving School, Inc. (“Nathan’s”) are subject to these Terms of Service, and by enrolling with Nathan’s you agree to them. The Terms of Service reflect the way Nathan’s does business and what you can expect as a Nathan’s client/student. Please review these carefully!!! They should answer most questions you may have.
NO REFUNDS. Except as expressly provided below, NATHAN’S DOES NOT OFFER ANY REFUNDS FOR CLASSES, LESSONS, OR TESTS. All purchases from Nathan’s are final.
THIRTY (30) HOURS OF INSTRUCTION. Georgia law requires that all individuals seventeen (17) and under to attend thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction, pass an exam, and obtain a Certificate of Completion in order to apply at the Department of Driver Services (DDS) for a driver’s license. Nathan’s has been providing driver’s training instruction since 1986 and is proud to offer our services to you.
MINIMUM NUMBER OF STUDENTS. Nathan’s requires a minimum of five (5) students for any class or session. If the class that you originally enroll in does not reach the minimum number of students, you will be notified and given the opportunity to re-enroll in a different class or session. If you do not wish to enroll in a different class, Nathan’s shall return your enrollment fee. You must decide within five (5) business days after receiving notice of a cancellation from Nathan’s whether you want to enroll in a different class or receive a refund of your enrollment payment.
SCHEDULING OF CLASSES. Students may enroll for Nathan’s classes on-line on our website. If you have any scheduling questions or issues, please contact our office staff.
RESCHEDULING OF CLASSES. If you wish to change the class your originally enrolled in, you must notify Nathan’s at least five (5) business days before the day of your first class. The fee to reschedule a class is $25.00. (There are significant administrative issues involved in changing a student to another class, as we are required to provide multiple records and documentation of all participants to the Department of Driver Services (DDS).) You may not change classes less than five (5) business before the start of the class, and no refunds are given for missed classes.
STUDENT BEHAVIOR. In order to preserve the integrity of our program and the safety of our students, any type of behavioral problem, whether acting out in class or improper interactions any other students or the instructor, may result in the dismissal from the course. The full tuition and any remaining classroom or in-car lessons will be forfeited if you are expelled from a class due to a behavior issue. During the lunch hour and during class breaks, students are not supervised Nathan’s, and Nathan’s is not responsible for them during those time periods. Students are permitted to leave the premises to get lunch on their own. Students are expected to behave both on and off campus when attending class.
TEXTBOOKS. Textbooks provided to the students are the property of Nathan's. Students are not permitted to write on, highlight, or otherwise damage the textbook. Students who damage or lose textbooks will be charged $30 for replacement. The Certificate of Completion will not be issued until this fee has been paid.
ATTENDANCE. Georgia law requires that students fully attend all thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction. Students who do not attend all thirty (30) hours will not pass. If a student misses one (1) scheduled session, we will allow the student to schedule a make-up session of that class on an available class date, subject to a $25.00 rescheduling fee. If a student misses more than one (1) day of class, the student must re-take the entire class from the beginning, and there is a $100 administration fee to re-enroll.
TARDINESS. STUDENTS MUST ARRIVE FOR CLASS ON-TIME!! Students are not permitted to arrive late or leave class early. There are no exceptions—this is a Georgia statutory requirement. We have absolutely no flexibility with regard to this issue—it is a State required mandate.
PICK-UP. Students should be picked up promptly after the end of their class. While we care about the safety of your student, we are not a babysitting service. We understand that sometimes things happen (e.g., Atlanta traffic), and parents/guardians run late. During the weekdays (during business hours), a student can wait in our building lobby. However, for classes that end at 5:00 p.m. or later or which take place on a weekend, if a student is not picked up within ten (10) minutes after the scheduled end of the class, we charge $20 for the time the instructor has to stay with the student.
PASSING/FAILING CLASS. Students who have attended all classes and passed the exam will be issued a Certificate of Completion for their session. (Students enrolled in the combined 30 hours class / 6 hours of lessons behind the wheel training (the 30/6) will receive a combined Certificate at the conclusion of the lessons). Any student who does not receive a score of at least 70 does not pass the class and will not be issued a Certificate of Completion. However, Nathan’s will allow non-passing students to re-take the exam a second time for free. We also offer an optional two hours of private tutoring for a fee of $160.00 to help prepare the student for the second test. If a student does not pass the exam second time, we give our students the option of re-taking the entire thirty (30) hour course and the exam for half price ($99.50).
BEHIND THE WHEEL LESSONS
SIX (6) HOURS OF LESSONS. In additional to the thirty (30) hours of classroom instruction, State law requires that individuals seventeen (17) and under receive at least six (6) hours of behind the wheel training with a certified instruction before applying for a driver’s license with the DDS. Nathan’s proudly offers students the opportunity to take the State required six (6) hours of behind the wheel training with our excellent instructors. (Additionally, Nathan’s offers additional hours of private lessons for those students who would benefit from some extra time behind the wheel before taking the drivers’ exam.)
SCHEDULING OF LESSONS. Scheduling of behind the wheel lessons is available only after students have completed their classroom instruction and received a passing grade in the 30 hour class. Lessons can be scheduled by contacting Nathan’s office staff. All lessons are subject to availability.
LOCATION OF LESSONS. All lessons begin and end at one of our driving school locations (Chamblee/Roswell) or the school location where we are currently teaching. It is the parents’/guardians’ and student’s responsibility to get to and from our facilities. Nathan’s does offer pick up and drop off at location chosen by the student (e.g., at home) subject to a travel fee based on location. If you are interested in this option, please contact our office staff.
VEHICLES. Currently, Nathan’s uses a fleet of Toyota Corollas for all behind the wheel lessons. We work hard to maintain our fleet to make sure our vehicles are safe and working. Despite this, occasionally a mechanical issue may arise with a vehicle. If the vehicle we have scheduled for your lesson has an issue either right before or during a lesson, we may have to cancel, but we will reschedule you and provide another full lesson at no charge. We always want our instructors and clients safe.
LEARNERS PERMIT. Students are responsible for obtaining a learners permit from the DDS. The DDS website and app contain instructions on how to obtain a permit. Nathan’s offers private tutoring for the permit exam. If you are interested in that, please contact our office staff. Students MUST have their learners permit with them and must present it to the instructor at the time of any behind the wheel training. Failure to have a permit at the time of a lesson will result in the forfeiture of the lesson or you will only be able to drive in a parking lot. On rare occasions, a student may commit a moving violation and/or receive a citation or ticket while taking a lesson. While our instructors strive to avoid any such occurrences, if a citation/ticket is issued, that citation/ticket is solely the responsibility of the student/driver and not the responsibility of Nathan’s.
RESCHEDULING BEHIND THE WHEEL LESSONS. Appointments for behind-the-wheel lessons may be rescheduled with at least 48 hours notice for no charge (provided, however, that a request to reschedule a Sunday lesson must be made no later than 4:30 pm the Thursday before). A change made between 24 to 48 hours before a lesson is subject to a $50 rescheduling fee. If a change is made less than 24 hours before the lesson or if a student does not show up for a lesson, there is a $100 rescheduling fee. All fees must be paid PRIOR to any other scheduled lessons being taken or the "missed" lesson being rescheduled. We understand medical emergencies and if you have a true emergency and a letter/excuse from a doctor’s office, you will not be charged. Please remember, our instructors work hard and if you miss or reschedule a lesson with less than 48 hours, they lose their time and you take up time that could have gone to another student. On rare occasions, our instructors may have to reschedule a lesson. If that happens, we will make every effort to reschedule you as quickly as possible for a date that is convenient for you. If any lessons are canceled because of us, we will reschedule at no charge and/or, depending on the situation, give you an additional lesson at no charge.
PICK-UP. Students should be picked up promptly after the end of their lesson. Your Nathan’s instructor likely has another lesson scheduled for another student shortly after yours ends. While we care about the safety of your student, we are not a babysitting service. We understand that sometimes things happen (e.g., Atlanta traffic), and parents/guardians run late. During the weekdays (during business hours), a student can wait in our building lobby. However, for lessons that end after 5:00 p.m. or which take place on a weekend, if a student is not picked up within ten (10) minutes after the scheduled end of the lesson, we charge $20 for the time the instructor has to stay with the student.
TIME TO COMPLETE PROGRAM. After registering with Nathan’s and submitting your payment, you have twenty-four (24) months to complete the entire program for which you registered (e.g., 30 hours classroom or 30/6). If the student fails to do so, any hours not completed shall be forfeited and there is no refund of tuition. If a student has completed the 30 hour course but not the lessons, the student may still receive a Certificate of Completion for the course. But if the 30 hour course has not been completed, the student will not receive any credit for the course, and that no Certificate of Completion will be issued.
PARENTAL/GUARDIAN RESPONSIBILTY. Most of our students are fifteen (15) or sixteen (16) years of age. Occasionally, they will schedule or cancel a class on their own or miss a class. Please understand that it is the parents’/guardians’ responsibility for monitoring and communicating with their child about all scheduling and class/lesson attendance—you are responsible for any scheduling made by your child. And parents/guardians are ultimately responsible for any changes, cancellations, or missed appointments, and any fees that result therefrom. Please be sure to communicate with your child to ensure that you and the student are on the same page with respect to all classes and lessons scheduled.
ADMINSTRATIVE FEE. If a student enrolled in the 30/6 would like separate certificates for the class and the lessons, there is an extra $25 administrative fee (due to the extra paperwork required by the State.) Additionally, any duplicate copies or requests for documentation that has previously been issued will incur a $25.00 administrative fee (as we have to go back to find files, make copies, find information on our systems and state systems and spend time getting this for you).
ADAP. Georgia requires all students to take an Alcohol and Drug Awareness Program (ADAP). ADAP is NOT part of the instruction offered by Nathan’s because it is taught in every school in the State and is also available for free online at the DDS website. Please ensure you complete ADAP on your own.
DRIVER’S LICENSE ROAD TESTING
PRIVATE ROAD TESTING. Nathan’s is proud to offer its clients the ability to take their driver’s license road test with Nathan’s. Nathan’s is fully certified by the State to provide this service to our clients and administer the road test for them. The results are reported to the DDS, and Nathan’s will provide an official DDS Certificate of Passing to all students who pass.
ENROLLMENT. Students who have enrolled in either Nathan’s 30 hour classroom instruction or the 30/6 may add a private road test with Nathan’s for $55. Non-Nathan’s students may take their road test with us for $90, but anyone eighteen (18) or older who has not previously taken behind the wheel training with Nathan’s must schedule and take at least one in car lesson with us prior to enrolling for road testing. Non-Nathan’s students age 16-17 must show a certificate of completion of a 30/6 class to take the road test with us.
SCHEDULING. Road Tests must be scheduled AT LEAST TWO (2) WEEKS in advance. Once a date is scheduled, it may be changed ONLY if there is eight or more days notice in advance. We have to turn in a report to the State each week for the following week, so we unfortunately have no flexibility on this matter. No changes or cancellations can be made after the eighth day before the scheduled test, and NO refunds will be given for late re-schedulings, cancellations, or no shows for any reason as we cannot fill the spot. We also need to receive copies of all documents required for the road test (e.g., certificates and permits) by, at the latest, the Friday before your road test.
RE-TAKING OF ROAD TEST. If you do not successfully pass your first attempt at the road test, you may schedule a second road test for the rate of $55, or you have the option of purchasing a one (1) hour refresher lesson plus a second road test for just $99.
LEARNERS PERMIT. Students MUST have their learners permit with them and must present it to the instructor at the time of any road test. Failure to have a permit at the time of a lesson will result in the forfeiture of the road test. If the student lost the Learner's Permit and got it reissued, you MUST obtain an MVR (Motor Vehicle Report) from the Georgia Department of Driver Services to verify the original issue date of the learner's permit. We MUST have the MVR before the student will be allowed to take the road test. You can print this report online on www.dds.ga.gov.
PARENT/GUARDIAN NEEDED. A parent or guardian must bring you for your road test if you are under the age of 18.
ADDITIONAL REQUIEMENTS FOR LICENSE. After passing a road test, students seventeen (17) and younger will need to bring the following to the DDS (along with anything else the DDS may subsequently require: (i) your Certificate of Passing the road test, (ii) your Certificates of Completion for the 30 Hour instruction and the 6 Hour behind the wheel lessons, (iii) an ADAP Certificate; (iv) a letter from your school; and (v) parent affidavits. You will also have to pass a vision test at the DDS.
ROAD TESTING AT THE DDS
USING NATHAN’S AT THE DDS. Occasionally, our clients desire to take a road test at the DDS using a Nathan’s vehicle. The pricing for this service is set forth on our website. This service also includes a one (1) hour private lesson immediately before the DDS road test in order to best prepare you for the test.
SCHEDULING. You are solely responsible for scheduling your own appointment with the DDS and all associated paperwork—Nathan’s does not schedule road tests at the DDS. The DDS’s website is located at https://dds.georgia.gov/provisional-drivers-license-class-d. After you schedule with the DDS you should immediately contact our office staff to schedule your lesson and arrange an instructor. You must also request any paperwork you need from us at least 72 hours in advance of the test. Calling us from the DDS at the time of your test is not going to get you what you need. *DO NOT WAIT UNTIL THE DAY OF YOUR TEST TO ASK FOR THIS! IF YOU HAVE NOT RECEIVED IT, YOU MUST ASK AT LEAST 72 HR. BEFORE YOUR TEST for us to get it to you and for it to appear in the state system. While we will try to help when able, your lack of planning is not our emergency. No refunds will be given if you are unable to take the test because you did not have the documents needed.
PARENT/GUARDIAN REQUIRED. All minors must have a parent or guardian accompany them on the way to the DDS or fill out an affidavit and release allowing our instructors to take them to DDS.
DEFENSE DRIVING COURSE (DDC) AND ARRIVE ALIVE @ 25
DDC AND ARRIVE ALIVE. Nathan’s is certified to offer defense driving courses and the Arrive Alive @ 25 course. Please see our website or contact our office staff for pricing and scheduling. Upon proper completion of the class, Nathan’s will issue a certificate that can be submitted to a court or judge certifying your completion. We recommend that you schedule your class well before any related court date.
MINIMUM NUMBER OF STUDENTS. Nathan’s requires a minimum of three (3) students for any class. If the class that you originally enroll in does not reach the minimum number of students, you will be notified and given the opportunity to re-enroll in a different class. If you do not wish to enroll in a different class, Nathan’s shall return your enrollment fee. You must decide within five (5) business days after receiving notice of a cancellation from Nathan’s whether you want to enroll in a different class or receive a refund of your enrollment payment..
TARDINESS. STUDENTS MUST ARRIVE FOR CLASS ON-TIME!! Students are not permitted to arrive late or leave class early. There are no exceptions—this is a Georgia statutory requirement. We have absolutely no flexibility with regard to this issue—it is a State required mandate. If you no show or are late there is no refund or rescheduling. You forfeit the class.
WALK-INS. Walk-ins are welcome and may pay at the door (exact cash only), but we may not have a class if we did not have at least three (3) students register for the class. Check the website prior to arriving if you want to be a walk-in.
CANCELLATIONS. If the class that you originally enroll in does not reach the minimum number of students or if we have to cancel a class for any other reason, you will be notified and given the opportunity to re-enroll in a different class or session. If you do not wish to enroll in a different class, Nathan’s shall return your enrollment fee. You must decide within five (5) business days after receiving notice of a cancellation from Nathan’s whether you want to enroll in a different class or receive a refund of your enrollment payment.
REGISTRATION. When you register for DDC, you must be sure to fill out the correct reason or the “intent” for taking the class and pay the correct fee associated with that “intent.” The State of Georgia regulates the fee for DDC classes for court ordered, ticket reduction, reinstatement, traffic violations to $95.00. You must register for and pay this amount. If you register for insurance only, your certificate will not be accepted by the Department of Driver Services or the court system. We cannot go back and change this once the class is over and certificates are issued. If you sign up for the wrong class reason/intent when registering, you will have to repay and take the course again. This is the state rule.